Tainted

Standard

.

So many years under our belt,

so many memories,

yet there is one moment

that stands out.

One is above the rest.

Perhaps,

because it’s fresh?

No.

There are others

more raw than that one,

yet it still burns in my mind.

At this point,

forever engrained.

I hate to say I’m holding a grudge,

so I prefer to say I’m not stupid.

I can’t be fooled

by you

anymore.

No.

I see the alliance,

so I choose to be defiant.

This first time will be the last time.

It’s not my fault

you chose to cut so deep,

hit so hard

that the scar could never fade away.

We’ve had so many sweet memories,

yes I’ll admit,

but it’s this sour moment

that will forever

cloud my perception of you.

.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

