Never Forget

Standard

September 11 Memorial

It’s been 12 years since the terrorist attacks of 9/11 and, although some people think enough time has passed, I  think most people will agree when I say that I don’t think it’s an event that can be easily forgotten.  Thousands lost their lives that day and even more have continued to put their life on the line to make sure that those people didn’t die in vain.  Every time a person visits that memorial in New York City, that day will be remembered and respected, just as those people will be remembered as well.  It’s something that will always be engrained in the history of the United States, so it’s not at all fair to suggest that it’s a thing of the past.  I agree that America as a whole needs to continue forward, but I think that we have already begun that healing process and it isn’t fair to say that the country is hanging on to a distant memory.  In fact, for many, this traumatic experience is still fresh in their minds and is continuing to affect their daily lives whether it’s in the form of a daughter who was killed that day or a father who is overseas fighting in a war because of these attacks.  9/11 happened 12 years ago, but it’s effects are still being felt today.  I recognize that not everyone was directly affected by these attacks and there are even some individuals who were too young to remember it today; however, as a person who was living in New York when the attacks happened, I saw the devastation it caused and I know just how impacting it truly was.  Having relatives who were living and working in the city at the time and knowing that my father was supposed to be in Manhattan that day, but, instead stayed in Brooklyn, it was very real for me.  I’ll admit, not as real as my classmates who lost parents in the attacks, but real enough for me to realize that 9/11 would be a day I could never forget.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

