Don’t Forget Your Nails!

Standard

Nail ArtWhen it comes to fashion, so many people forget how much of a difference some great nail art can make.  In my opinion, it is the most underrated fashion accessory there is.  It’s the forgotten sleeper that is oh so wonderful.  When I was younger, I had a slight obsession with nails.  I remember loving my faux nail kits, complete with stickers, rhinestones, and miniature bottles of nail polish, and using them whenever I got the chance.  I’ll admit that when middle school and high school hit, I forgot about my nails.  I usually didn’t wear any nail polish at all or let the color chip away as the days passed.  However, once college came around, I remembered how beautiful nail art can be.  I began with basic one color designs like a bold red all throughout or maybe a hot pink polish.  Then, I moved up to trying simple adornments, trying my hand at stripes, polka dots, and abstract anythings.  I even started doing my own variations of french manicures.  I’m now at the point where I love doing my nails and I love showing them off even more.

The great thing about nail art is that it’s a simple addition to your whole look without stealing away too much attention.  People will always notice your nails… good or bad, so you might as well make sure they look good.  Show off a bit of your personality with a pop of color or a fun design.  It can be the difference between something missing from your look of the day and being on your A-game.  Now that it’s  Fall, I suggest sticking to darker colors.  Reds, purples, and greens are always a good bet in Fall, but don’t be scared to add something flashy.  You can add some glitter, gold, or even a hint of white to make your nails that much more fabulous.  Also, don’t be shy and experiment.  Practice designs, test out new patterns, and just live a little.  The worst that can happen is you need to use your nail polish remover.  Just remember that you can have too many bracelets and rings, but your nails won’t be so loud that you shouldn’t step out of your comfort zone.  Take your fashion to the max this season with your own custom nail art.  Have fun!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

