Happy Birthday Big Sis!

Standard

Today, my big sister turns 27, so I want to wish her a very Happy Birthday.  It’s crazy to think about because, when I look at her, I still see a slightly punk teenager living in Long Island, but now the reality is she’s engaged and saving up to be a homeowner.  Yup, she’s a big girl now!  We’ve had some eventful years together filled with special memories, lots of laughs, and even arguments that I’m grateful for because a lot of them have turned into funny stories to tell or lessons we’ll hold on to for the rest of our lives.  Honestly, I’m very proud of everything my big sister has accomplished thus far in her life from graduating college to soaring through her job in the government.  I know she’s almost 30 which is scary to say, but she’s got so much life left to live.  She’s so smart and I know that this is just the beginning of her long list of successes to come.  Personally, I’m glad that our relationship has gotten better and that I have the opportunity to spend as much time with her as I do.  I realize that not everyone gets to see their sister everyday and I feel so blessed to have my family so close to me.  I know that with this government shutdown is scary, but the best way for my sister to look at it is a little vacation from work for her birthday.  I hope she has a great day and weekend filled with love and new memories with the people she loves most.

Happy Birthday Vany!

Love,

Pumpkin

Happy Birthday Big Sis!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

