Happy Birthday Cano!

Standard

Yes, I have a love for athletes like Rafael Nadal, Derek Jeter, and Arian Foster, but ask me who my favorite one is and it will be Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano.  I’ve been a fan of his since he was a rookie with the Yankees in 2005 and I am still a huge fan of his today.  Yes, that means I loved him even way back when he was rocking the 22 uniform number.   Now, eight years later, Cano remains as a force to be reckoned with in the baseball world.  He’s the main reason I can tolerate a Yankee game at Camden Yards in Baltimore and he is the only reason I will put up with the Orioles fans who have an undying hatred toward him and the other pinstripe bearing ball players.  Yes, I do it all for Cano.  Number 24.  Seriously though, there’s no denying his talent and skill, explaining why the Yankees are working so hard to find a contract that will keep him on their team for some more good years.

At the age of 31, Cano has accomplished so much.  He’s solidified his place in baseball history and yet continues to carry himself well.  No scandals, no drama, and a lot of positive influence on his fans.  I admire Cano as a true talent and I admire the way he carries himself.  Nowadays, it can be hard to find good role models in the sports world, but I think Cano helps give athletes and Hispanics in general a good name.  All in all, I just wanted to show my special appreciation for Robinson Cano and wish him a happy 31st birthday.  I’m excited to see how his career will continue to grow from here and I have no doubt that we are nowhere near the end of his journey.

20131022-015755.jpg

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

