Getting to Know Drake

Standard

Tomorrow is Drake’s birthday and, in honor of his special day, I thought it would be appropriate to give you all the opportunity to get to know Drake a little bit more.  As my hands down favorite rapper and as one of my favorite music artists of all time, I’ve been able to understand Drake’s mindset and character as a whole through his music including everything from Comeback Season all the way up to his latest album Nothing Was the Same.  If you haven’t had the chance to listen to Drake’s music, I highly recommend it, especially NWTS.  I can seriously listen to that entire album without skipping any songs on repeat without getting tired of it at all.  It tells a story that reveals a lot about Drake and can help you understand a lot about yourself, while also creating an ambiance that relaxes and excites you at the same time.  I personally feel like I can relate to him, which is why I vibe so well to his music, but I also believe that his music is fairly universal and that it can resonate with so many more people than just me.

Drake recently did an interview on Q in Canada where he opens up about his NWTS project, his feedback from listeners, and his background among other things.  The entire interview is about an hour long, which is a pretty serious time commitment for a video, but I watched it and I thought it was really interesting.  I definitely learned a lot about Drake that I didn’t already know; however, you can also find a five minute clip of the interview here, in case you don’t have that kind of time for the whole interview.  Enjoy!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

