Happy Birthday Drake!

Standard

Drake is definitely my favorite rapper and he is certainly in my top five favorite music artists of all time.  I can listen to his music on repeat at any given moment with no complaints, but I can assure you it is only because he has earned that spot with his talent.  I think Drake is arguably one of the best lyricists making music right now and, if you don’t think that, then I will have to blame the Young Money mainstream stigma for deafening your ears.  Drake is mainstream and he does have his fair share of pop rap songs, but there is no denying his ability to write genuinely good lyrics.  There’s a reason why he’s so sought out for ghost writing.  On top of that, he is the musician that I can relate to the most. Not only is he vulnerable and a human with emotions, but he’s also an eager young adult, hungry to prove why he deserves to be successful.  “Lust for Life,” “Say What’s Real,” “Fear,” “The Motion,” “The Calm,” and “Worst Behavior” are only some of the songs that I can quote and relate to my life, my mindset, and my character.  I may sound cheesy, but Drake really could write the soundtrack to my life because rearrange tracks from his past projects and you already have it.

People can hate on Drake all they want, but there’s something to be said for the fact that his albums debut at the top of the charts, he’s recognized as one of the top rappers of the moment, and has already won a Grammy before his 27th birthday today.  Honestly, he is one of my inspirations in life and I have no shame in saying it.  He is one of the few artists who have been able to maintain my interest for so long and that’s because of his talent.  I really don’t think Drake is anywhere near being done, but I can’t wait to see what he does next.  For now, happy birthday Drake!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

