RIP Tio Edwin

Standard

Today marks the one year anniversary of my uncle’s passing and I can’t even fully describe how difficult it is to describe that he’s gone.  I will always remember him as my energetic, down to Earth uncle who would say the realest, craziest, and funniest things ever.  Even though a whole year has passed, I still think about him everyday.  When I hear the word “deuces” or listen to Frankie Ruiz, my uncle’s image will pass through my mind.  It’s even harder when I meet someone who has his same mannerisms or resembles his appearance, but it’s part of life.  None of us are meant to be here forever, so we have to learn to cherish our time with the people we love.  More importantly, we have to be grateful for that time.  I’m grateful for every second I spent with my uncle and I am grateful to have such a close relationship with his children.  I can honestly say that I trust his sons with my life and having them as family is something I will never trade for anything.  All I can do now is look back at the moments with my uncle with a smile on my face, while also appreciating the time I have left with what he left behind for me and the rest of his family.  Love you Tio!

RIP Tio Edwin

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

