Hold Nothing Back

Standard

If there’s one thing I’ve learned in my twenty one years of life, it’s that having no regrets is one of the most satisfying things in the world.  You never have to wonder what could have been and you’ll never have to look back at the past, thinking the phrase “what if.”  Everybody is faced with choices on a daily basis and we are forced to make decisions that we are going to live with for the rest of our lives, no matter how big or small.  I don’t know about you, but I would much rather make a decision that I firmly believe in, rather than one I was coerced into.  I try to live my life in a way that is honest and genuine.  If I think something is right, then I’d rather do that.

When it comes to my family and friends, I tell them I love them, I am affectionate toward them, and I help them in their times of need in any way that I can.  I don’t want any of them to disappear, leaving me feeling like I could’ve done more for them, even if it was simply making them feel more loved.  If I love them and care for them, I want them to know right then and there, not when it’s too late.  When it comes to my goals and my career in general, I want the choices I make to be based off of what I believe is the best thing, not what society believes is the best thing.  I would rather take a risk, nurturing a passion for the arts and independence, then “give up” and apply for a traditional job.  If I don’t dedicate myself to what I believe in first, then I’ll never know if it could have worked in the first place.

Regrets are horrible because you can’t make them go away so easily.  The past is the past and it can’t be changed.  Although your mind can be changed and the way you look at the past can be altered, it is much easier said than done.  I would rather not have to go through the trouble of regretting in the first place.  I prefer to be honest with myself and make a decision I can live with, than one I have to erase from my memory.  I do have some regrets, but they’re entirely from situations that happened years ago, before I even knew what I wanted in life.  I’m still coping with those regrets, so I have no intentions of adding anything more to the list.  I fully intend to live my life to the fullest to ensure I never look back wondering what could have been.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

