2013 AMA Recap!

Standard

You all should know by now that I love award shows, especially when it comes to the music ones.  Unfortunately, I didn’t get to see the American Music Awards live last night, but I caught myself up enough to share my two cents about the night with you.  I won’t dwell on the winners and losers of the night, even though Ms. Riri deserves some big ups for being the first recipient of the American Music Icon Award.  She definitely serves as an inspiration for me in between all of her madness.

Moving on to the fashion of the night, I thought there was a lot of the same.  There were a few people who dared to be different like Katy Perry and Lady Gaga, but they mostly hit the mark for me.  I could point out a few favorite looks of the night, including Christina Aguilera, Ciara, and Naya Rivera.  They all kept it classy enough for the awards show, while still showing off some personality.  I loved loved loved Christina’s stark white gown with the side slit paired with silver accessories, short curls, and red lips.  She embodied the image of a diva and, with her blessed voice, Christina can do that!  Ciara strayed away from the solid colored dress, opting for a black patterned dress that had some sheerness to it, too.  I appreciate Ciara’s boldness, yet her specific understanding of balance by keeping the rest of her look to the basics.  Naya deserves some props for her gown, as well.  Her black, long sleeve dress was topped off by a flowing train, but kept its sex appeal with a slit down the center to show off some cleavage.  However, it was the gold cuffs that did it for me.  The bold gold against the jet black was genius to me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As for the performances, I was pretty impressed by what each artist brought to the table.  Kendrick Lamar’s R&B’d up versions of “Swimming Pools” and “Poetic Justice” were pluses for me, while even Miley Cyrus made watching her performance worth while.  I wasn’t here for the cat theme, but I can applaud her on her raw emotion throughout the song.  A Great Big World with Christina Aguilera, Imagine Dragons, and, of course, Rihanna all gave great performances that didn’t leave me disappointed, while Ariana Grande definitely did her thing, too.  I really think she is the second coming of Mariah Carey and she made me a believer in her as an artist with the retro vibe of her performance last night.  However, my favorite performance of the night has to go to Jennifer Lopez.  I will be the first to admit that she hasn’t been on point with her music game for a while, but her tribute to Celia Cruz last night was more than respectable.  Sure, she doesn’t have the same lung power or range that Celia had, but she knows how to dance, making her a good performer.  I saw a lot of the old J-Lo in last night’s performance and I was happy to see Jenny from the block paying tribute to one of my favorite singers as opposed to the new diva-esque Jennifer Lopez.

Overall, I was not disappointed by the AMA’s and I can’t wait to see what another year of music will bring us!

Leave a Reply

