Happy Thanksgiving!

Standard

I just wanted to take a moment to wish everyone reading this a very happy Thanksgiving.  It’s a special day of the year that celebrates everything you have to be thankful for.  It may be something as simple as being able to spend Thanksgiving with your loved ones, even if you fight and argue with the people closest to you.  Either way, I hope you spend your Thanksgiving with people you love and that you fill yourself with an immense amount of positive energy.  Take today to appreciate the little things as well as the bigger things.  Remember every detail that you may have forgotten that play a big part in your life today.  Think about the things you are fortunate enough to have and to experience.  If you’re list is short now, then focus on that short list and work toward making that list longer for next year.  This time of the year isn’t meant to make you feel like a failure or that you have nothing.  It is meant to make you realize the good things you do have.

Personally, I have a lot to be thankful for this year.  I know I say this pretty much every year, but it’s true and I honestly believe that this has been my best year yet.  I graduated from college, I have created so many unforgettable memories, and the opportunities continue to come my way as I am already working on the projects that I’ve always wanted to focus on.  On top of that, the past year has brought me closer to the people I’ve always shared a special connection with, while also putting me in touch with individuals who were complete strangers this time last year.  I’ve created so many good relationships this year that it’s hard not to be thankful for them.  It’s hard to not be thankful for my family that has always been by my side and who I feel so blessed to have spent so much time with.  I’m thankful for the lessons I’ve learned and the ways that I’ve grown.  I’m thankful for the strong foundation I’ve created for 2014.  I’m thankful for the good life I live and the even better future I see right in front of me.  Life is good and I’m thankful for every single piece of it.

Happy Thanksgiving my loves!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

