Don’t Just Speak It, Do It!

Standard

Have you ever heard of the phrase “speak it into existence”?  I’m sure you have.  Basically, it’s a concept stating your words have the power to take something you say and manifest into a more tangible way in either a negative or positive way.  For example, if you say “I hope I don’t fail this test,” you’re already putting the possibility of failing the test into the air, making it more probable that you’ll fail the test.  At the same time, by saying “I will be successful,” that positive energy can help you be successful.  Honestly, I believe in this theory.  I do think that the words you say release different types of energies that can help or hinder your future.  That’s why I always try to stay as positive as possible.  I wasn’t always this way, but, as years have passed and as I’ve matured, I’ve learned that a little bit of optimism can go a long way.  I guess you can say I’ve become one of those people who always look at the bright side or is able to find a positive within any negative.  However, I also believe that a person needs to commit to more than just their words if they ever want to reach their goals.

Staying positive is the first step to achieving what you’re working for, but “working” is the other key point of getting things done in your life.  You have to put in your end of the work and carry your weight, so that the universe can do its job and feed off of your positive energy.  Think about it.  If you need to study for a final and you simply think to yourself how well you’re going to do on the exam, but you don’t actually do any studying, then how well can you really expect to do on that test?  My guess is you won’t do too hot, but it’s only because you didn’t hold up you’re end of the bargain.  If you believe that you’ll do well and you actually study as hard as you’re supposed to, then you’ll have no negative thoughts holding you back, while you have everything you need to know in your head already.  It’s as simple as that.

Thank God for an early graduation that I don’t have to worry about positive thoughts to get me through finals week anymore, but I do still hang on to my optimism to help get me further in life.  I have my own goals that I want to achieve and that I know I will achieve in due time.  I will say that from prior experience, life seems to have perfect timing.  Everything that I’ve worked for, up to this point, has never come too early or later than I needed it to, so I know that there are some good things in the works for me.  I just need to maintain a positive mindset to give the vibes around me something to work with, while grinding on my own and getting some dirty work done.  How else can I expect to ever accomplish my goals?  Besides, if you don’t have positive thoughts about yourself, then how could you expect others to believe you have what it takes to succeed?  Go ahead and say that you’ll accomplish all of your goals and realize your dreams, while you’re actually doing what you need to in order to get those things done.  People will have no choice to believe you when they see you’re actually doing what you said you would.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

