Merry Christmas to All!

Standard

It’s the time of year that so many people can’t wait for.  Kids want to stay up late so badly for it out of excitement, yet are forced to bed before their eyes even get droopy.  Adults count down the days to being with relatives they haven’t seen in weeks, months, or even years.  But, all in all, everyone is happy and ready to celebrate being overcome by the Christmas spirit!  Usually, I’m filled with joy and love around this time of year.  Christmas lights make me feel like a kid again, Christmas movies are all I want to watch, and I’ll be the first one up on Christmas morning.  However, this year, I must admit, is a little bittersweet.  On one hand, I don’t think I’ve ever been happier in my life.  I am beyond grateful for the family, friends, and special people in my life who remind me of everything I have to celebrate.  I’m proud of everything I’ve accomplished and thankful for the opportunities that continue to come into my life.  I feel more optimistic than ever and I still feel like the positive vibes in my life aren’t going anywhere.  But, then on the other hand, I feel like such a huge part of me is missing.  I’m away from my family who I’m so used to cooking with on Christmas day, there are no kiddies to open gifts, and there are so many worries in the back of my mind.  The only thing I can do is focus on everything I have to celebrate and cherish the beautiful moments I’m living now.  I hope you all can do the same.  More so, I hope you all have nothing to worry about.  I sincerely wish all of my loves a very Merry Christmas!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

