It’s Been Real 2013!

Standard

Even though it may be hard to believe, today is indeed the last day of 2013.  Tonight the world will be welcoming a new year in the form of 2014, which they hope will be only better than the last 365 days of their lives.  Personally, I have little to no complaints about how my last year went.  Yes, there were some reals lows throughout the past 12 months and there is no doubt that there were many moments that I broke down in tears, was overwhelmed by stress, and burst out in anger.  However, these moments were greatly outnumbered by the accomplishments, the beauty, and the blessings that I experienced in 2013.  I graduated college, I dedicated more time to what’s important to me, I got some quality time with the real me, I created priceless memories, and I cherished every minute of it.  I realized that in the past it was hard for me to enjoy the present, pick out the positive in each situation, and focus on my own goals, but 2013 was different.  I feel like I grew so much as an individual and I can’t help but think that 2014 is only going to be a continuation of that positive growth for me.  I enjoyed every second of 2013, but I honestly can’t wait to see what 2014 has to offer.  As the chapter of this year ends, I am welcoming the start of a new year with welcome arms.  Thanks for everything 2013, but now it’s time to give 2014 a chance to outdo you!

For my New Year’s resolution, I want to maintain a positive mentality, fighting off any negativity that can hinder my progress, while I also want to keep my life moving forward.  I don’t want to remain stagnant or stall out.  I don’t want to be content with anything.  I want to keep progressing without hesitating and without wanting to look back.  I want my optimism and my forward movement to maintain my personal happiness and increase my success, while also rubbing off onto those around me.I hope you all can look forward to the new year with a positive mindset, remembering that forward movement is the key to success.   You can only fight darkness with light, so always make sure to keep the light within yourself to assure that nothing will stop you from reaching your goals.  2014 can be your year, if you believe it and work hard to make it so.  All in all, I want to wish you all a very Happy New Year!  End 2013 on a positive note, so that 2014 will start off on a positive one as well!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

