Hello, 2014!

Standard

It’s the first day of 2014 and I honestly have never been so excited to welcome a new year.  I believe that 2013 has been one of my best years to date, so I definitely want to see what the new year has to offer me.  2013 was undoubtedly a year of growth for me.  I finished whatever business I felt was holding me back from moving forward, helping me go on my own path to pursue my own passions.  I finished school, got rid of unhealthy relationships, and filtered out most of my negative thoughts from my mind. Now, it’s a new year and what most would perceive to be a new beginning, but I guess I see it more as a continuation.  It is a continuation of the progress that was made in 2013. 

From here, I only want to keep growing and improving as should everybody.  Who wants to start off the new year with no foundation and a completely clean slate?  It doesn’t make sense to erase what happened the year before.  If mistakes were made, you can turn them into lessons.  Lessons that can help make your new year better.  Don’t worry about regrets and what not.  Instead focus on what’s ahead while hanging on to all of the good things that happened to you.  2014 will only be as good as you make it.  Like I said before, 2013 was good to me, so I feel like I have  a lot of positive momentum on my side that I simply can’t let past me.  I’m going to take advantage of what I learned to make the new year even more successful.

With that being said, I want to thank you all for always showing your support by reading my posts everyday throughout the past two years.  I know I haven’t been posting every single day like before, but I’ve been dedicating more time to other projects that have been on the back burner for way too long.  Don’t think I’ve forgotten about you or that I don’t appreciate you because, when I say 2013 was good to me you all are included in that statement as well.  My blog continues to grow everyday and it’s only possible because you all are willing to hear me out.  I will definitely continue blogging away on here, but I’ll also be focusing on my works in progress.  When the time is right, I hope you’ll all continue to support me by checking out my new work.

For now, I wish you all a happy start to 2014.  Make it a good one!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

