Felicidades Adolfo!

Standard

About 10 years ago, a man named Adolfo came into my life in the form of my step-grandfather.  I didn’t really know him and I wasn’t sure how long he would be in my life.  I started warming up to the idea of him when he would come visit us from New York with my grandma and we would play basketball together.  Eventually, I came to the conclusion he wasn’t going anywhere and now, 10 years later, he’s proven he’s a part of this family.  He’s been there for myself and my family during some of the hardest times in our lives, while also sharing our pain in many of those moments.  He’s experienced some of our most beautiful moments together, which simply can’t be replaced.  Throughout the past decade, Adolfo has been an amazing grandfather figure, helping to fill some voids that had existed for years before he came into the picture.  I’m so thankful to have him in my life and, even though we aren’t blood related, I without a doubt consider him family.  I’m grateful for every moment I get to spend with him and the opportunity to adopt him into our family.  Today is his birthday and, although he can’t be here with my mom and siblings, he knows how loved he is.  I wish him nothing but the best throughout another year in his life.

Felicidades Adolfo!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

