The Golden Stars of the Golden Globes

Standard

Okay, well maybe these celebs weren’t literally golden being that black and dark hues seemed to be the palette of the night for most of the big names, but they still found ways to dazzle and awe with their looks of the night.  For the most part, I saw a lot of black, navy blue, and dark green that caught my attention.

Uma ThurmanUma Thurman definitely stole the spotlight in my opinion with her monochromatically embellished halter top gown.  Uma is Uma and she can do pretty much anything.  I mean she’s Black Mamba and she was surely dressed to kill in this number.  I love how edgy and different the dress is.  Yes, it has classic elements and it screams elegance, but the juxtaposition of the fabrics and the gunmetal next to the black push Uma’s whole look into its own category.  Plus, she just looks so fierce and gives off an air of confidence that is impossible to hate.

Right after Ms. Uma Thurman comes Olivia Wilde who slayed the competition in her tight-fitted emerald dress.  It sparkles from head to toe, giving off rich green tones mixed with a bit of black and silver.  I’m definitely a fan of her long sleeves and the body hugging feature of the gown that keeps all eyes on her very visible baby bump.  Plus, I think her ombre locks paired with her light eyes perfectly compliment her whole look.

Rounding out the lovers of the dark, my kudos go out to Sofia Vergara in black and Kate Beckinsale in metallic grey.  Sofia opted for an all black ballgown style dress, which was a refreshing change from her signature body flaunting mermaid gowns.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m a sucker for the mermaid and trumpet cut gowns, but variety is always nice.  I think by keeping the dress black with no patterns or embellishments helped keep the gown from being too much.  I was also a fan of her turquoise statement necklace that brought in the perfect pop of color to her look.  Kate Beckinsale also looked good in her metallic mermaid number.  The silhouette itself is girly and classic, while the fabric and patterns are industrial, tough, and modern, which I love.  It kept her outfit from being too safe or predictable.  Kate’s updo and simple make-up completed the look passively, yet perfectly.

Although the girls in dark hues were running the red carpet last night, I will say that there were a few looks that were giving those ladies a run for their money.  I loved, loved, loved Margot Robbie’s crisp white leg bearing gown paired with emerald details, while Lupita Nyong’o kept me interested with her red caped gown.  For more of my favorites from last night, take a look at the pictures below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

