Happy Birthday @Nickumsss!

Standard

22 years ago a fabulously loud butterfly graced us all with her presence and was born somewhere in Germany.  Who knew that eleven years later she would be brought into my life and would become my best friend?  Yes, today my best friend of over ten years turns 22 and, as if I didn’t remember it on my own, Ms. Nicole would never let me forget it.  You can bet that she was sending me countdowns to her birthday and reminding Twitter on a daily basis, which just goes to show how modest my BFF is, but that’s why she’s so loved… because she is so unapologetically her own person, making her absolutely one of a kind.

Sure, throughout the past ten years we’ve had our moments of stress and frustration, but we definitely never stopped loving one another.  I must say this girl has seen me during my highest of highs and my lowest of lows, but she’s never left me alone and she’s never judged me.  If anything, she has been my number one fan and has always encouraged me to grow into the person I am now.  I only hope that I have been just as good of a friend to her that she has been to me.

But, honestly, what can I say about my best friend that she doesn’t already know?  She’s hilarious, fabulous, loud, talkative, dramatic, loving, and, when she walks into a room, you know she’s arrived.  My Boo is the Katy Perry to my Rihanna.  She is like a sister to me and I feel so blessed to have her in my life.  I can’t tell you how awkward it is when people complain about how crappy their friends are, knowing that I’ve had Nicole for ten plus years and a group of other girlies who have my back no matter what.  I honestly hope everyone gets the chance to experience such a strong and healthy friendship because it really is a beautifully special thing.  At this point, I know me and my ride or die are in it for life and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Happy Birthday Boo!

Happy Birthday @Nickumsss!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

