This Illness

Standard

.

My body is weak under your power.

I can’t walk.

I can barely stand.

Even breathing is a chore

as you inhabit every part of my being.

I heave over and kneel

with my head bowed down powerlessly

and I remind you

of your unquestionable supremacy

over my mortal self.

My body reaches dangerous temperatures

from your presence.

It blossoms in unnatural colors

because of your touch.

Stark whites

and bright reds

swim from my profile to my eyes

and lunge into the deep purples and greens

that run across my limbs.

Your tight embrace

is relentless

and I feel as though

you’ll never leave my side,

but, soon enough,

the spell you casted

lifts to the air above me.

I look up and your mark is there

as if I was still mid sleep in a dream,

yet I feel my core and my body

to find that you’re nowhere to be found.

Though I thought you never would,

like the rest you came and went.

You left,

leaving no sign of returning once again.

And just like that I am cured

of your torturous illness

that made me forgot who I was

and forced me to succumb to you.

.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

