Happy Birthday Jose!

Standard

Whenever someone new steps into your life, it’s customary to be wary and a bit suspicious of that person, especially if you didn’t choose for that person to be a part of your life.  You don’t know the person and, although you don’t want to judge the newcomer, you still wonder if they can be trusted, what their intentions are, and if they actually are good people.  Eventually, they’ll start to show their true colors and either your worries will not have been in vain or you never had anything to worry about in the first place.  It just depends on the person and the circumstances.

Jose, at one point, was a stranger, a new member to my life, and, in all honesty, I didn’t like him.  I didn’t think he was right for my sister and I even refused to serve him the food that I cooked.  However, I can truthfully say that today, a few years later, I gladly say Jose is part of my family.  Throughout the past few years, he has proven to me that he’s a good person and he’s done a good job of spreading the joy and love that he has in his heart.  All in all, he’s secured a spot in my family whether he likes it or not! I don’t regret being wary of him at first, but I certainly don’t regret accepting him into my life either.  He is the best brother-in-law I could ask for because of many different reasons, but especially because he is perfect for my sister.  I don’t think I could think of another man who could make my sister as happy and fulfilled, which is the main reason why he’s won over my love as well.  So, today, your birthday, I wish you nothing but endless love and happiness.

Happy Birthday Jose!

Happy Birthday Jose!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

