Happy Birthday Mami Becky!

Standard

I want to take today to celebrate my second mother, my lovely Titi, my Becky!  Today is her birthday and I wish her nothing but infinite happiness and blessings.  She is an exemplar woman and human being.  Some people may think she’s feisty, which she is, but she also has a heart of gold.  When this woman loves you, consider yourself lucky because she loves hard.  She will do whatever she can to make sure that her loved ones know how special they are and she will do anything to make them happy.  Honestly, I appreciate and love my Titi Becky more than she will probably ever know.  It meant the world to me for her to go to Puerto Rico for my Sweet 15 and to say the toast.  She went out of her way for me again when I graduated high school and she flew from Texas to Maryland at one o’clock in the morning to see me walk across that stage.  It was only right for me to try to pay her back by making a trip to Puerto Rico this past April to see her marry the love of her life and a man who has unconditionally become part of our family.  But she one up’d me again when she gave me the pleasure of being her Maid of Honor, something that I will always treasure. 

I value these things she’s done for me and everything else she’s done for me because she is such an important person in my life.  I’ve witnessed many of the hardships she’s gone through, yet she has never given up at life.  She just keeps pushing forward and keeps moving up.  Like I said before, she is an exemplar woman and I assure she is the type of person I strive to be.  I genuinely appreciate the close bond I have with her and I hope she gets to celebrate her day in the way that she deserves to be celebrated.

Happy Birthday Mami Becky!  I love you!

Happy Birthday Mami Becky!

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

