Another Year…

Standard

As I sit here on the morning of my 22nd birthday, I can’t help but think about all of the things I have experienced thus far. I have gone through plenty of hardships and difficult times that most people will never even fathom. They’d be shocked, if they ever learn about the things I’ve had to overcome, but I would rather have them not know. I feel like those experiences were life lessons soley carved out for my life as my foundation.

I recognize that there are others who have it worst than I do. That’s probably the root of my positive thinking. I’ll never complain about what I’ve gone through, nor will I ever try to tell the world about those things as a way to victimize myself. On the contrary, I am thoroughly grateful for each moment I have lived because, without those moments, as cliche as it is, I would not be the person I am today. I may have never have found my strength, ambition, compassion, and independence and that would have been much more tragic than anything I’ve lived through.

By living through the first 22 years of my life. I’ve learned to grow into who I am today. I’ve built a sturdy foundation for myself and Have placed myself in the position to gain opportunity. I am currently at the best place I have ever been in my life, spiritually, socially, personally, and in any other way you can imagine. I am happy and I am confident in my potential and with my place in the world. What better way to bring in another year? But the best part is that, although I’m happy with where I am, I know that this is not the best I’ll be. I know there are greater things to come that the first 22 years of my life have prepared me for. Right now, I’m living in the moment, enjoying my time, but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t excited to see what another year has in store for me.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

One response »

Leave a Reply

