Yes, I Still Write

Standard

Besides the Steeze app, which I previously told you all about, believe it or not, I’ve actually been spending a lot of time writing. I’ll admit I haven’t been writing a lot for MSauciana, but I have written a lot of things. I’ve mainly been preparing a collection of poetry for publishing.

I started off by sending a good chunk of poetry (150-200 poems) to family and friends to pick out their favorite poems. I gave them the ballpark of selecting their top 50 poems. I know what I like, but I don’t know what everyone else likes, so I wanted to get their feedback and see which writing styles of mine they like most individually. What better way to do that than by seeing what their favorite poems are?

But don’t feel forgotten because your opinions have been taken into account as well. I’ve been going back into my blog’s archives and making a note of how many interactions each poem I’ve posted has gotten. The poems with the highest amount of positive reactions will be considered your “favorites” and could be included in the collection I’m putting together. (For those of you who would like to help with this process, you can find all of the poems I’ve posted here. Feel free to ‘like’ whichever ones are your favorites, so I can take your opinion into account. If you’ve already liked it, but you want to make sure I know how much you enjoyed a specific poem, then a comment works just as well.)

So, yes, I’ve sent out poems to people and I’ve been going back and tallying your feedback, but I’ve also been spending A LOT of time writing new material. Why? There are a couple of reasons. First off, it wouldn’t be fair to present a book of poetry filled with poems you can read for free on my blog. There has to be something exclusive and special about the book that you can’t find anywhere else, especially on MSauciana. Because of that, a vast majority of what you see in the book will be never before seen and never published kind of poetry.

Second, I feel like my voice as a poet has evolved within the two plus years of MSauciana, so I need to create a good amount of material that reflects my new voice. With your help and life’s hand, I’ve been steered toward certain personal writing styles that I’m now exploring and developing. Although I love and respect my old work, I feel like my new work is even better, which is to be expected. No artist wants their work to be in the same place two years later. So that’s why I’ve been hoarding away so much of my new work. Just because I haven’t been posting as much as I used to on here doesn’t mean I’m not writing.

Aside from working on my poetry collection, I’ve also been submitting my work to organizations, awards, and competitions. I’m working on getting my writing out there and I’ve been trying to push myself, forcing myself out of my comfort zone. Thus far, I’ve been quite productive, so I’m going to use this momentum to stay focused and continue to progress. But, don’t worry because MSauciana is still very much in my plan.

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

