Emmy’s Best

Standard

Yesterday, the biggest stars in television showed out for the 66th Annual Emmy Awards. One thing is for sure, the light toned dresses were definitely winning on the red carpet. There were so many beautiful white, off-white, and silver dresses that I was in heaven; however, I will give props to a few ladies who stood out in their colorful gowns. Honestly, I saw a lot of looks I fell in love with, so I don’t think I could pick out just one as my absolute favorite, but I’ll try to categorize.

Sofia Vergara

For the ladies in white, I’d have to give it to Sofia Vergara. She killed the red carpet in a strapless white mermaid gown with silver detailing, giving the overall look just enough sparkle to stand out. Plus, it was body hugging kind of sexy, but straight neckline kind of classy which I thought was smart. As for the other stars getting their white in before Labor Day, Padma Lakshmi, Kristen Wiig, and Laverne Cox all showed the other women how it’s done right.

Padma LakshmiKristen Wiig

Laverne Cox

Katherine Heigl stole the category for the off-white category in a three-quarter length sleeved gown paired off with a deep neckline. It reminded me of classic Hollywood starlets with a touch of modern detailing thanks to the chunky bracelets. She looked mature, beautiful, elegant, and nearly perfect. Lucy Liu and Taylor Schilling also did off-white justice in their looks of the night.

Katherine Heigl

Lucy Liu

Taylor Schilling

As for the metallic gowns, it was an all-out battle between the fashion forward Gwen Stefani and the mommy-to-be Hayden Panettiere. Obviously, how could I choose between the two? Stefani slayed in a silver maxi skirt and matching top with more metallic detailing down the neckline, while her straight hair with the middle part and minimal jewelry perfected the look. On the other hand, Hayden showed off her growing baby bump, but still had some sex appeal with a deep V-neckline. All I can say is that’s how you show out on the carpet when you’re pregnant.

Gwen Stefani

Hayden Panettiere

Last, but not least, come the colorful celebrities who dared to go bright. Again, I can’t choose a sole winner, but I have to give props to them all. Heidi Klum and Sarah Hyland stood out in coral, while Cat Deeley looked stunning in ombre ballgown. Keke Palmer went big and bold in her blue gown, which actually worked.

Heidi Klum

Sarah Hyland

Cat Deeley

Keke Palmer

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

