Happy Birthday Cano!

Standard

A couple of months ago, I celebrated my 22nd birthday and the start to my Year of Cano.  Most people claim the Year of Jordan when they turn 23, but, in my case, Robinson Cano is a reason to celebrate.  To give you some background, Cano was born on this day (October 22) 32 years ago in the Domincan Republic.  When he became the second baseman for the New York Yankees in 2005, his jersey number was 22.  After a couple of seasons, he had to give up his number and became 24.  Flash forward seven more years and Cano is now second baseman for the Seattle Mariners and is back to number 22.  Thus, the importance of 22.

As many of you may know, Cano is my favorite baseball player (with Jeter’s recent retirement, there’s no more battle for first place) and I feel honored to have been a fan of his since his major league debut nine years ago.  Throughout his career, I have seen Cano go from a rookie with potential to a Yankee star and now the Mariners’ best weapons.  Cano has become, arguably, one of the best baseball players in the league and I’m sure he’ll only continue to solidify himself in baseball history.  Outside of baseball, Cano has proven himself to be an admirable man, only making me a bigger fan of his.

Simply put, Happy Birthday Cano!

Robinson Cano

About Tatiana Figueroa Ramirez

Born in Puerto Rico and raised in the mainland United States, I graduated with a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) and am a 2016 VONA Voices Alumna. I currently perform spoken-word in the greater Washington D.C. area and have previously performed in Philadelphia, Miami, and the Dominican Republic. Most recently, I have been published in Public Pool, Spillwords, and The Acentos Review, and Here Comes Everyone: East & West Issue.

Leave a Reply

